Member Login

Our History

Rehoboth Beach Country Club was incorporated in March 1925 on 65 acres within the town limits of Rehoboth Beach, Delaware, near Silver Lake. Its nine-hole golf course was described as “sporty” and boasted a clubhouse that was renovated from an old farm house that was part of the original property. The Club was established to operate as a club for pleasure, recreation and entertainment of its members and their guests.

In the 1950s with a membership close to 400 strong, the Club began its search for more property that would allow for the needed expansion of the golf course and other amenities. The current 150-acre site was found offering 1,000 feet of waterfront on the Rehoboth Bay between Bald Eagle Creek and White Oak Creek.

1930 Golf Course
Aerial shot of the course

Construction of the golf course began in 1960. It was followed by construction of a clubhouse two years later. The official grand opening event of the new Rehoboth Beach Country Club at Bald Eagle Point was held in June 1966.

By 1972 membership was nearing 600 and plans for major renovations of the clubhouse were set in motion. Reconstruction included enclosing a porch, adding two fireplaces and storage rooms and the addition of a bar on the second floor which would be designated “Harry’s Bar” after Harry Bonk who was president of the Club at that time. In 1989, and with membership reaching 850, the clubhouse was expanded again to the approximate building layout that members are still enjoying today.

Today, Rehoboth Beach Country Club boasts a championship 18-hole golf course with practice facilities including a two-sided range, putting green, dedicated chipping and bunker areas, golf shop with PGA professionals; a seasonal tennis complex featuring four Har-tru courts, pro shop and professional instruction; a heated outdoor swimming pool and children’s pool overlooking the Rehoboth Bay; a year-round, state-of-the-art fitness center; and a full-service clubhouse with a large ballroom and a variety of unique dining opportunities that hosts special events year round for the enjoyment of its members and guests.

1934 Postcard of the building